Skip to content

Board of Directors & Staff

Established in 1963, Campground Owners of New York, Inc. (CONY) is a for-profit trade association dedicated to the promotion, growth, improvement, and development of independently owned campgrounds in New York State.

Two full-time staff persons manage the day-to-day operations of the association. The board of directors is comprised of campground owners or managers representing designated regions across the entire state, plus an executive committee of campground operators.

Office location and correspondence:
100 Saratoga Village Blvd, Ste 37S
Malta, New York 12020, 585-586-4360


Photo of CEO & President Emily Simmons

Emily Simmons

President & CEO

Ann Flach heashot

Ann Kielbasa-Flach

Marketing & Communications Coordinator
585-586-4360, ext 2

Board of Directors (2023-2024)

Matt Anderson
Camp Chautauqua
Stow, NY

Executive Committee Chair

1st Vice Chair:
Rosemary Celelli
Camp Bell Campground
Campbell, NY

Public Affairs Committee Chair

2nd Vice Chair:
Nina Latello
Sleepy Hollow Lake Resort
Akron, NY

Governance Committee Chair

3rd Vice Chair:
Brian Ellsworth
Rip Van Winkle Campgrounds
Saugerties, NY

Marketing Committee Chair

Immediate Past Chair:
Scott Sherwood
Spruce Row Campground & RV Park
Ithaca, NY

Executive Committee Member

Edward Marden
Camp Bell Campground
Campbell, NY

Executive Committee Member

Patty Jarnot
Dream Lake Campground
Warsaw, NY

Executive Committee Member

Regional Directors

John Tinelli
Triple R Camping Resort & Trailer Sales
Franklinville, NY

Counties: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua.

Alternate Director:

Greater Niagara:
Rick Payton
The Ridge Campground
Mt Morris, NY

Counties: Erie, Genesee, Niagara, Orleans, Wyoming.

Alternate Director: Amorita Latello, Sleepy Hollow Lake Campground

Finger Lakes:
Randy Case
Grants' Vacation Park
Fair Haven, NY

Counties: Cayuga, Chemung, Cortland, Livingston, Monroe, Onondaga, Ontario, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Wayne, Yates.

Alternate Director:

Central New York:
Louise Hartshorn
Lebanon Reservoir Campground
Hamilton, NY

Counties: Broome, Chenango, southern Herkimer (all locations south of the intersections of NY Routes 365 and 8), Madison, Oneida, Montgomery, Otsego, northern Schoharie (all locations northwest of Interstate 88).

Alternate Director:

1000 Islands-Seaway/Eastern Lake Ontario:
Trisa Miller
Brennan Beach RV Resort
Pulaski, NY

Counties: Jefferson, Oswego, northern St. Lawrence (all locations northwest of US Route 11).

Alternate Director:

The Adirondacks:
Donald Smith
Alpine Lake RV Resort
Corinth, NY

Counties: Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Lewis, Warren, northern Herkimer (all locations north of the Intersection of Routes 365 & 8), southern St. Lawrence (all locations southeast of US Route 11).

Mandy Duncan
Lee's Park Campground
Saratoga Springs, NY

Counties: Albany, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Washington

Alternate Director: Jared Foro, Whispering Pines Campsites & RV Park, Greenfield Center, NY.

The Catskills:
Jerry Schroader
Brookside Campground
Catskill, NY

Counties: Delaware, Greene, Sullivan, western Ulster (all locations west of Interstate 87), and southern Schoharie (all locations southeast of Interstate 88).

Alternate Director:

Hudson Valley/Long Island:

Counties: Columbia, Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Westchester, Suffolk, and eastern Ulster (all locations east of Interstate 87).

Alternate Director:

At-Large Director:
Jonathon Goldberg, Equity Lifestyle Properties, Inc.

CONY Board of Directors 2023-2024

CONY Board Presidents (1964-2010)/Board Chairpersons (2010 and ongoing)

1964 to 1967
Merrill R. Bull
Arrowhead Camping Area
Delevan, NY

1968 to 1969
Robert LaPoint
Chedmardo Campsite
Pulaski, NY

Frank Brundage
Hickory Hill Campground
Bath, NY

1971 to 1972
Arthur Bedell
River Road Campground
Corinth, NY

1973 to 1974
Robert D. Kunzman
Pine Valley Campground
Endicott, NY

1975 to 1976
Harry Wood, Jr.
Miller Hollow Campground
Roscoe, NY

1977 to 1978
Roger C. Anderson
Camp Chautauqua
Stow, NY

1979 to 1981
Olga “Ollie” Mizerak
Cooperstown Shadow Brook Campground
Cooperstown, NY

1982 to 1983
Robert London
Skyway Camping Resort
Greenfield Park, NY

1984 to 1986
Edwin Lighthall
Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park
at Mexico
Mexico, NY

1987 to 1988
Albert G. Kaufman
Upper Delaware Campground
Callicoon, NY

1989 to 1990
Edgar Hollwedel
Lei-Ti Campground
Batavia, NY

1990 to 1992
Andy Joehl
Indian Ridge Campground
Catskill, NY

1992 to 1994
Ford Gilbert “Gil” Paddock
Deer River Campsite

1994 to 1995
Barbara Lighthall
Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park at Mexico

1995 to 1998
Ford Gilbert “Gil” Paddock
Deer River Campsite
Malone, NY

1998 to 2001
Mark Anderson
Camp Chautauqua
Stow, NY

2001 to 2007
Janine Paddock
Deer River Campsite
Malone, NY

Board of Directors 1979

2007 to 2011
Scott Sherwood
Spruce Row Campground & RV Park
Ithaca, NY

2011 to 2014
Michael Papp
West Canada Creek Campsites
Poland, NY

2014 to 2018
Gregg Nicholls
Lake Bluff Campground
Wolcott, NY

2018 to 2023
Scott Sherwood
Spruce Row Campground & RV Park
Ithaca, NY

2023 to Present
Matt Anderson
Camp Chautauqua
Stow, NY

CONY Executive Administrators/Presidents & CEOs

1975 to 2007
Robert C. Klos, Sr.
Executive Administrator

2006 to 2023
Donald G. Bennett, Jr.
President & CEO

2023 to Present
Emily Simmons
President & CEO

Scroll To Top