Skip to content

CONY Hall of Fame & CONY Fellows

CONY recognizes exceptional campground operators and partners in the outdoor hospitality industry that have made great contributions not only to the association, but also to their own communities and professions.

The CONY Hall of Fame recognizes campground operators and association staff, and nominees are considered by the Board of Directors.

A nominee for the CONY Hall of Fame could be a current or past member or staff person. Nominations can come from CONY directors on behalf of their regions, or the Executive Committee. More than one person can receive designation to the CONY Hall of Fame in the same year.

Hall of Fame members welcome Randy Lehman

The board considers the following criteria:

  • Individual has been or was a CONY member at least 8 years.
  • Individual has been or was a Board of Director member or Alternate Director for at least 3 years.
  • Individual is or was an owner/operator of a quality campground.
  • Individual made/makes contributions to CONY and the outdoor hospitality industry.
  • Individual is/was involved in the New York tourism industry.
  • Individual had/has community involvement, such as their local chamber of commerce, civic/service organizations, political service, etc.
  • Individual is past/present paid personnel of CONY.

CONY Hall of Fame Honorees

Olga “Ollie” Mizerak
Shadow Brook Campground

Roger Anderson
Camp Chautauqua

Bob London
Skyway Camping Resort

John VanHassent
Camp Bell Campground

Barbara Lighthall
Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park at Mexico

Edwin Lighthall
Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park at Mexico

Merrill L. Bull
Arrowhead Camping Area

Ford Gilbert “Gil” Paddock
Deer River Campsite

Robert C. Klos, Sr.
Sugar Creek Glen Campground & CONY Executive Administrator

Albert G. Kaufman
Upper Delaware Campground

Vera Eddy
Woodstream Campsite & charter member of CONY

Mildred Yaniszewski
Conesus Lake Campground & charter member of CONY

Mark Anderson
Camp Chautauqua

Randy S. Lehman
Hickory Hill Camping Resort

Janine Paddock
Deer River Campsite

Gina Lenhard
Adirondacks Jellystone Park

Mike Lenhard
Adirondacks Jellystone Park

Donald Bennett, Jr.
Past President & CEO of CONY
Conesus Lake Campground
Conesus Lake RV Park

Hall of Fame members pose with CONY 50th cake
Gregg Nicholls, Charlie Daley, Don Bennett, Jr.
Vera Eddy and Mildred Yaniszewski

The CONY Fellow of Distinction recognition was created in 2016 by the CONY board of directors to honor individuals or companies that support CONY’s mission of promotion, growth, improvement, and development of independently owned campgrounds in New York State, and its vision to be the model campground association by providing professionalism and diversity in our programs, education, services, advocacy and support for continued growth and collaboration within the outdoor hospitality industry.

Nominations for Hall of Fame and Fellow of Distinction recognitions are considered upon nomination submission to the CONY Board of Directors by members, affiliate members, or staff, and not strictly on an annual basis.

CONY Fellow of Distinction Honorees

Clyde Taylor
President, Taylor Communications

David “Scout” Thornton
Founder and Owner, Destinations of New York State

Charlie Daley, CTIS/CTP
Founder and Owner, Destinations of New York State

John Doldo III
Owner, Jones & Doldo Agency, LLC

Peter B. O'Connell
Attorney at Law

Contact the CONY office for more information or to submit a nomination.

John Doldo & Don Bennett, Jr.
Scroll To Top